railgunfan75's Geek blog

My thoughts on all things geek…anime, comics, conventions, etc. Just remember stay geeky my friends!

Why I Love Anime and Why You Should Too (It’s Not the Fanservice)

Greetings! Railgunfan75 here! This time I thought I would I would switch gears again. This I would like to do an essay of sorts. I thought since since much of my content is anime related, I would share with you my reasons that I enjoy it so much. I also hope to convince those of you who are maybe on the fence about checking out anime that it is worth your time to check it out. 

I will start by admitting that there was a point in which I was not a fan of the genre. My experiences with anime had been with bad english dubs and wild and crazy series. Because of this, I had thought that it was just plain weird. I didn’t judge those who liked it in a negative manner, it just didn’t seem appealing to me. A few years ago I was shown a show which so entertaining and completely changed my thinking about what could be done with animation. The name of that show will remain secret until a future post, but that show changed my mindset completely. Today I admit that I was dead wrong in my thoughts and wish that I had come around earlier than I did. I regret that I did not give anime a chance and I have discovered over recent years the vast and enchanting world that is anime. 

To those who are on the fence about watching anime, I will say this first: It is much much more than just fanservice! Many people I have talked to assume anime is just about fanservice and cute girls. While that is a part of the genre and there are some good series with those things included, the appeal of anime to me is much deeper than that. To me one of the greatest appeal of anime series involves the ability of these series to explore and address what it means to be human and what it means to live in this world. In many series there are underlying themes which define them. These themes are predominant in the plots and in the characters themselves. In the end all of these themes are about these two things.

There are endless examples which can be used to show this. The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya for example can seen as an exploration about dreams and individuality. Log Horizon explores the inner workings of how societies function and how we react to being thrust into a new world. Attack on Titan at it’s core is a story about survival and delicate nature of us not only as individuals but as a species. Fairy Tail explores the power of past experiences and the importance of the bonds with the people in our lives. These are just a few examples of the topics which are addressed both directly and indirectly in anime. These are things which are important for everyone to look at and everyone can relate to. Since the dawn of humanity these are things that humans have had to deal with and are a part of who we are. 

Another appeal of many anime series are the characters themselves. Besides an excellent premise and story, one other thing the great series have in common are superb characters.  So what makes a great character? There are multiple things which a character great. Many such characters have a unique quirk or insane personality. Others help to fullfill the great dreams of power and heroism. These type of characters are great because they represent what many of us wish to be. Who hasn’t at some point wanted to be more adventurous, carefree, or honorable? Those characters that aid in wish fulfillment are among the most well known and popular in any medium.The characters are also people which we can relate to. If a character is similar to ourselves it is much easier to understand and enjoy (or despair) over what the characters are experiences. There are reasons that many series start with an ordinary individual getting caught up in a particular scenario. Besides the point of view plot device, such characters the audience can connect with more because they experience the same things we do. The struggles, emotions, and dreams are for the most part similar to our own in some way. These are characters you can get behind because they are so multidimensional. If one were to look at many characters in American television and film, many tend to fall under simple personality tropes and those tropes are quire common. Most (and there are exceptions) rarely change or change minimally from the beginning to the end of the story. That is not the case in many anime series. That is one of the greatest strengths of anime and one of the reasons I enjoy it so much. 

One may think based on the argument presented here, that anime is solely for the elite intellectual crowd. While it has a lot of thought provoking aspects to it. What makes anime series true works of art is the fact he series are just plain entertaining and there is something for everyone. Western animation is generally geared toward youth and is usually very action based or comedic in nature. Japanese animation on the other hand covers every possible story genre you could think of. If one wishes to indulge in a romantic comedy, science fiction thriller, or a fun action series one can find a series or movie to suit their needs. The diversity available is just astounding and is unmatched in my opinion. While the variety is superb, it means nothing if they are trainwrecks to watch. Yes there are some movies/series which are pretty terrible to watch, however the vast majority of anime is just a thrill to watch. Sometimes one just needs to unwind, grab a few laughs, or get behind something exciting. One can laugh, cry, or get just awestruck in the same episode. At the end of the day that is what it is all about isn’t it? When one indulges in music, movies or television they wish to be entertained and anime is certainly entertaining to watch. 

Finally, when one decides to explore anime one joins a truly awesome and fun community. This community is one of the best that anyone could be a part of. Regardless of race, age, sexual orientation,or political beliefs all are welcome without judgment. The passion that the members of the community possess is something that we all can relate to. Because of this such categories really don’t matter. All are welcome and that is probably the greatest reason to give anime a shot, one joins a great community with awesome people.

So if you are on the fence about exploring anime, I encourage you to give this wonderful medium a chance. You can laugh, cry, ponder your existence, or just be plain entertained. It is truly a great way to expand one’s horizons and experience some of the best stories that have been created. Anime has become a great artform and should be experienced by everyone. This concludes my thoughts about this topic. Until next time, this is Railgunfan75 signing off and saying stay geeky my friends! 

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 30, 2015 by in Anime and Manga, Anime corner and tagged , , .

Blogs I Follow

Categories

Top Posts & Pages

Archives

Blogs I Follow

Follow railgunfan75's Geek blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 145 other followers

