railgunfan75's Geek blog

My thoughts on all things geek…anime, comics, conventions, etc. Just remember stay geeky my friends!

Post #100: My Top 25 All Time Favorite Anime

So here we are! This blog has reached Post #100! I honestly never thought that this blog would reach this point. For me this is a huge milestone, one that I feel is something that should be celebrated. As such, I thought I would try to post something unique and/or special to mark the occasion. It certainly was a difficult decision as to what to write about for this post. I thought about new types of content, special top 10 lists, etc. I wanted to post something that would acknowledge this achievement with a bang. I figured that this would be a prime time to share with you my list for my Top 25 Favorite Anime.  This is a personal favorites list not a best anime of all time list. And before anyone comments complaining about the contents or order of the list I should note a couple of things. It was a tough decision choosing the 25 or so series on the list. It was even tougher assigning an order to these 25 as there is a small difference between #25 and #1. For those who are just curious about the list- here it is. If it you want to find out more about why the series made the list then scroll down a bit.

Special Award: RWBY

#25 A Certain Magical Index I and II

#24  Akame Ga Kill

#23 NO-RIN

#22 Is This A Zombie?/ Of the Dead

#21 Kill la Kill

#20 Ghost Stories

#19 Is the Order a Rabbit? 

#18 Puella Magi Madoka Magica

#17 Hetalia

#16 Full Metal Alchemist: Brotherhood

#15 Toradora!

#14 One Punch Man

#13 Love Live!

#12 Durarara and Durarara x2

#11 Log Horizon 

#10 No Game No Life

#9 Re:Zero

#8 Haganai: I Don’t Have Many Friends & Haganai Next

#7 Fairy Tail

#6  Cowboy Bebop

#5 Spice and Wolf/ Spice and Wolf II

#4 Steins; Gate

#3 A Certain Scientific Railgun/ Railgun S

#2 The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya

#1 Fate/Zero & Fate/ Stay Night Unlimited Blade Works

So here is why these made the list..

Special Award: RWBY

official_logo_for_rwby

This series certainly deserves mention and while I believe it does classify as an anime, I decided to give this a special distinction alongside with the main list in order to avoid any controversy. RWBY is certainly a special series with amazing writing, spectacular characters and a really engrossing world. This series only improves as time goes on. The adventures of Ruby, Yang, Blake, and Weiss are certainly special- so much so that the series has been exported to Japan. If you haven’t checked this series out, I certainly recommend it.

Now on to the main list…

#25 A Certain Magical Index I and II

index 3

This was my introduction to the To Aru Universe and it is certainly a fun series. Who doens’t love the character of Index? Who doesn’t feel awful for all the terrible things things that happen to Touma? Index was one of my early first anime series and it has arguably one of my favorite story arcs in any anime. While not as good as a certain spinoff which was the inspiration for this blog’s name and my moniker, Index is a fun series with great looking animation, awesome humor, and three of my favorite anime characters.

#24  Akame Ga Kill

akame-ga-kill-art

The fight scenes are bad ass. The main heroine Akame is bad ass. Heck everything about this show is just bad ass. I was entertained the entire way with this show. I don’t care that this series may not be the deepest series out there. It is full of action, over the top characters who are not necessarily good or evil, and a nice story to tie it all together. Everyone needs those shows which you can just sit down with a snack and enjoy without much effort- this series is one of them.

#23 NO-RIN 

nourin-anime

I was certainly surprised when I watched the 1st episode of this series as I certainly didn’t expect the type of humor that this series provides. A great take on the school life type of anime, NO-RIN is certainly on the more mature end of things simply because of it’s humor. What is even better is that the humor is done in a non-tacky manner and you don’t necessarily feel embarrassed to watch this. Also the dubbed version is a must watch for this series as the actors nail the humor perfectly.

#22 Is This A Zombie?/ Of the Dead

is-this-a-zombie

Harem anime tend to be really frustrating for me to watch. I am just not a fan of many of the tropes present in these anime and generally don’t find them entertaining. There are always exceptions though and this is certainly one of them. Is this a Zombie plays off the absurdity of both the harem and the magical girl anime and delivers comedic gold. The girls are all different enough from the standard tropes to stand out and Ayumu tends to fall on hard luck more than be an idiot. I also enjoyed the action sequences which are also featured prominently in the series. I tend to gravitate towards series which something unique to offer and Is This A  Zombie certainly fits the bill.

#21 Kill la Kill

kill la kill 1

What can I say about this series? It is certainly an interesting and electric ride. The amount of craziness and energy is higher than any other series on this list. Add in a story with a great payoff and characters which I won’t forget anytime soon (Talking bout you Mako!) and you get a series which I really enjoyed from start to finish. There are also some deeper messages hidden in this series as well which I thought was a nice touch.  I would also be failing if I didn’t mention the amazing soundtrack which is a fun listen on it’s own. Kill la Kill is on this list because it is over the top, nonsensical at times, and just a lot of fun to watch.

#20 Ghost Stories

ghost-stories

This series has to be on this list without question and I am referring to the dubbed version as the original is well not great. The LEGENDARY dub for this series is one of the most absurd things that I have ever seen and I enjoyed very minute of it. Seeing the actors let loose and not care about what they were saying is a very refreshing thing to watch in a very politically correct world. The jokes are inappropriate and hilarious especially coming from the mouths of children and include many jabs at the ridiculous nature of the plot. Even non anime fans can enjoy this one.

#19 Is the Order a Rabbit? 

is-the-order-a-rabbit-hulu-header

This fun and charming series will certainly make you feel good at the end of each episode. This series has no drama, a lot of laughs and a lot of absurd situations. I enjoyed the fact that each episode was just a fun adventure without any excess drama. It is just a group of girls going through life while working at their respective jobs.  What you see is what you get with this series and it works perfectly.  There isn’t a single offputting character in this series (though Chino and Rize are personal favorites). Fun adventures, fun characters, some coffee, and a handful of rabbits make for a very light and entertaining series. I don’t hear this series talked about a lot and it’s a shame because it is a good time.

#18 Puella Magi Madoka Magica

madoka-magica

This tells you how stiff the competition is when a series like this is near the bottom. Madoka is a series which blew my mind the 1st time I saw it and I know it has done the same for many others as well. What I enjoyed about it are the themes that series explored. The series is all about choice and the lengths that people will go for others as each characters story involve this in some way. You are also treated to a very trippy but fun aesthetic and a gorgeous world.  Easily a benchmark for doing a series and dark Magical Girl Series, Madoka was an easy choice for this list.

#17 Hetalia

hetalia

This series was my first venture into the world of anime and well it was tripped which certainly got me hooked on the medium. Countries walking as people who personify the sterotypes of almost every major country in the world is a formula which I found to be really hilarious. I liked that they just had short skits, no overarching plot and a lot of great jokes. I love to watch this series when I need to de-stress after a long day or long week. Of course nostalgia comes into play a bit with this series for me but I just can’t stop watching Italy and his love for Pasta.

#16 Full Metal Alchemist: Brotherhood

Qyzm02

This series or the original  is a staple probably on the majority of people’s top lists and for good reason. This franchise is an anime staple because it just hooks and takes you long for an exciting ride. I enjoyed this series for the same reason many people did- a perfectly paced story, a group of characters which felt very much alive, and themes which we all can relate to. Let us not forget the amazing dub cast in this series who brought these characters to life in a way which is rarely duplicated. A great anime and a great franchise indeed.

#15 Toradora!

toradora

I will admit that I generally don’t care for romantic comedies  or romance series in general but Toradora just hooked me from the start. I think the series resonated with me because it managed to keep the absurdity of anime romances but also feel really grounded at the same time.  Taiga, Ryuji, and the other cast members react to the events of the series  in a way which seems natural. The charm of the characters is one of the series major appeals to me. Taiga is just an awesome protagonist and Ryuji is a male character which I actually enjoyed watching. I also enjoyed that the series didn’t end when the romance was resolved, it kept going and tested that romance right away. The series has a near perfect balance of comedy and drama and was an obvious inclusion on the list.

#14 One Punch Man

onepunchman

Who doesn’t like this show? One Punch Man just nailed it out of the park from start to finish with it’s fun references and jabs at the absurdity of super hero and action shows. As a life long comic fan, this series felt like a fun jab of the nature of superheroes and superhero stories. I loved the insane nature of the fights, the very colorful cast of characters, and just the over the top nature of the series. Saitama, Genos, Mumen Rider, Tatsumaki amongst all of the others are an amazing group of characters which is the key to make any super hero story work. I would sold on it right away and am really excited for season 2 whenever it is released.

#13 Love Live!

love_live_promotional_image

So you have one of the best ensemble cast of characters in anime, catchy as hell music, and a very touching story about 9 girls striving to achieve a dream. I am proud to admit that I am fan of this series as it is one of the best written series out there. The characters are all fun and compliment each other well,  the setting is charming, and the music is just amazing. You root for U’s to succeed from the start because the characters and the writing make it very easy to. I enjoyed every aspect of this series and was really saddened when it ended. At least I can re watch the series and listen to the amazing music that came from it. Oh and Maki is best girl…just saying. Oh and did I mention that the soundtrack was awesome? Well it is.

#12 Durarara and Durarara x2

drrrx2

This is a series which deserves more credit than it gets from a lot of anime fans. I cannot recall a series with so many twists and turns as Durarara. The plot took me to places that i did not expect and along the way.  I especially liked the fact that the plot is culmination of many smaller stories and not just one central plot. One part supernatural mystery, one part character study, one part love story, and a little bit of comedy mixed in- Durarara is a highly entertaining series with something to offer everyone. The eccclectic cast of characters really sold this series for me as they are the heart of what makes this series great. Izaya is one of the best antagonists in any anime, Shizuo is just awesome, and Celty is just a lot of fun to watch. I met a cast of characters who have no business being in the same series yet they all feel like pieces of the same puzzle and that it one of the most amazing aspects of this series. Check this series out if you haven’t done so already.

#11 Log Horizon 

log horizon season2_full

And here is my first pick which falls in the the “trapped in a game world” genre. Log Horizon is one of favorites of the anime type because it does things differently than many of the other entries- the series’ focus is quite different than many of it’s contemporaries. The series focus on the impact of being trapped in such a world in regards to the politics and the impact on the native populace is a great change of pace to a relatively bland genre. I enjoyed how the series is really the about the characters just learning to survive in the world and facing real problems as they go along. Log Horizon is a series for gamers and non gamers alike. It doesn’t hurt that the cast of characters is great is well-who doesn’t like Akatsuki?

#10 No Game No Life

no-game-no-life

No Game No Life is one of those series which just blew my mind from the first second that I started watching it. This is truly a gorgeous series with an animation style which really sells the fact that the series is primarily set in another world. This world serves as an amazing playground for the characters which occupy it. This is expressed superbly with glorious animation and a very cool soundtrack. No Game No Life has an amazing group of protagonists who marvel you with their feats in each episode. Shiro and Sora are really a treat to watch. They are gaming heroes which certainly added to the appeal for me and will certainly appeal to anyone who has ever spent their spare time gaming.

#9 Re:Zero

re-zero

For those of you who follow me on Twitter, this one should be no surprise. I tweeted about this series a lot. I mean a lot. The newest entry on this list, Re:Zero blew my mind just like it did many others. Re:Zero takes many tired tropes, turns them on it’s head and gives the viewer one heck of a ride along the way. Re Zero is very emotional and dark- so much so that the viewer is tortured emotionally as much as the characters are. I really liked this aspect of the series. The series and the characters are so well written that feel what the characters do from the positive to the depressing. All of the characters from Emilia to Rem and Ram just feel like complete characters because of this aspect.  Re:Zero certainly exceeded what I thought the series was going to be and certainly deserves a spot on this list. And to add my two cents to the main debate amongst fans- Rem is best girl though Emilia is certainly no slouch either.

#8 Haganai: I Don’t Have Many Friends & Haganai Next

haganai

I have a soft spot for series which include a group of misfits. Maybe it was I am such a person that it is entertaining to watch others take part in crazy adventures. Haganai certainly fits this bill. Yozora, Sena and the rest of the gang certainly take top spot for eclectic characters.  I’ve rarely laughed as hard as when I watched this series. The constant bickering between Yozora and Sena, Rika and her adult entertainment, and let’s not forget those hilarious gaming scenes. The comedy is something that an outcast can appreciate because in some form the audience has had similar experiences.  Haganai is one of those series which reminds you that it is ok to be different because there are people out there that are just as different as you are. Add in the fact that this message is delivered in a very funny manner and you have a series which I really enjoyed from start to finish. I only wish that they would make season 3 already!

#7 Fairy Tail

fairy-tail

Yes I know this series has a lot of anime cliches but I can’t help but enjoy this series a lot. Fairy Tail for me is a great series to go to when I need to just relax and not think about things too much. There are 2 major things which I enjoy about this series, the awesome cast of characters and the impressive job done in terms of the world building. These two aspects are what set Fairy Tail apart compared to similar shows in the genre. The characters are all bad ass and quirky. I mean let’s look at this. You have a talking, flying cat, a master swords woman who loves cake, an ice master who can’t keep his on among others. the team of Natsu, Gray, Erza and Lucy have a great family like dynamic between which is great to watch.  Also it was clear that a lot of thought was taken into constructing a world which feels more lived in than many other series that I have watched. The fact that seemingly insignificant events or characters can play a big role further along in the story is really cool. Laugh at me if you want but I’m proud to have this on my list.

#6  Cowboy Bebop

cowboy-bebop

Admit it- Tank the opening them song played in your head when you saw this series on the list.  Cowboy Bebop is multiple things including a love letter to the beauty that is 20th century music and I think that is one of the reasons that I enjoyed this series so much. Cowboy Bebop shows it’s love with it’s  amazing soundtrack to the episode names which all reference music in some capacity.  That alone would be enough to make it a great series, but Bebop has much more to offer. Part western, part sci fi story, this series mixes many different elements in a way which is just brilliant. I also enjoyed how the series tapped into various entertaining genres from classic westerns, cult sci fi films, noir detective stories, and others. This works because the characters are written which such depth and personality that they fit well into many different scenarios. And let’s not also forget about the legendary dub. Cowboy Bebop is a piece of art for sure.

#5 Spice and Wolf/Spice and Wolf II

spice-and-wolf

I was blown away by everything that Spice and Wolf has to offer. First you have a unique setting with a world which is akin to the time that Christanity spread throughout Europe. Second I enjoyed the intelligence of the series with the discussions about economics and the conflict between and man and nature. Third, the pair of Holo and Lawrence make for a superb lead duo. I could sit and just spend an evening listening to the two of them banter back and forth- these are my favorite moments of the series. Finally, you have Holo herself. She is the star of this series and a strong and intelligent one at that. Holo easily makes my list of top heroines . Spice and Wolf is really a unique series which is a really entertaining ride.

#4 Steins; Gate

steins-gate

In my mind this is the choice for best sci-fi series in anime. Steins Gate runs the whole emotional spectrum and does it well which is a tough feat to accomplish. I loved the fact that the series was not just one note.With Steins; Gate I laughed and I cried sometimes in the same episode. Of course this wouldn’t be possible without an amazing cast of characters . Okabe is a great protagonist (and yes there is a b it of a bias because he is a scientist) whose journey is really something special to watch. Many series have great character development but Okabe is almost a different person by the time his journey ends.It’s not just Okabe though as every character is profoundly affected by the series. I have to make sure to mention how awesome Kurisu is a character as well. It’s so cool to have a genius as the main heroine. There are so many positives with this series. And the dub for this series is quite superb as well, so I recommend checking out the dub on this one.

#3 A Certain Scientific Railgun/ Railgun S

mikoto 1

I’m sure everyone thought that this one would be at the #1 spot of the list. While it is not #1, it is pretty darn close. One of the few cases where a spinoff is better than the original, Railgun tells a fun and action packed story with a lot of heart in it as well. What sold me on this series is that while the characters need a hand from time to time, they certainly don’t need to be rescued. Mikoto and friends are all strong and complete characters. The action sequences are amazing to watch, I loved the setting of Academy City, and the series also has it’s own version of the Sisters Arc which is my favorite story arc in any anime. Let’s not forget the awesome theme songs- “Only My Railgun” is insanely epic. You just feel cool watching this show. The Railgun franchise is certainly a special one and I am proud to say that this series is one of my favorites.

#2 The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya

dc2a0-haruhidance

I have written numerous posts about this franchise and I’m not really sure what else I can say about this series. This series is a masterpiece and a classic which should be viewed by anime fan. The concept hooked I can’t help but be fascinated by this universe and sucked in by Haruhi and her escapades even if I don’t agree with everything that she does. As someone who tries to keep that youthful, fantastical spirit alive in their life,  I can relate to the message that the series gives us. Plus it doesn’t hurt that the series is so out there and so much fun that you can’t help but watch the adventures of Haruhi and the SOS Brigade.

#1 Fate/Zero & Fate/ Stay Night Unlimited Blade Works

It was no contest for the number 1 spot in my mind. The Fate franchise offers so much from intense action sequences, fascinating character studies, and interesting takes on figures from history and myth. This series while it will blow you away with gorgeous and epic battles, it will also make you think along the way as well. You have the questions as to whether the main characters are making the right choices and as to whether their world views are right or not. Speaking of the characters the franchise features many wonderful characters from the villanous Gilgamesh to best girls Rin and Saber. Each character contributes something significant to the story which is engaging from the first episode. The Fate franchise just provides a flat out entertaining and awesome experience. This series showcases what is great about anime. This was also the first series which I discovered on my own and that adds to my opinion of it. And come on who doesn’t want to see King Arthur fight Alexander the Great?

And so we have concluded with my list of my Top 25 Favorite Anime. Of course all of this wouldn’t have been possible without the support of all of you who have read, liked and commented on my content thus far. Without you this blog likely would not exist. So thanks to all of you out there who have taken the time to read what I have had to say. I take your feedback very seriously and am always looking to give you content that you want to read. Thanks to all of you who have followed this blog and checked out my content. Also a special shoutout to those of you who follow my blow on a regular basis. Bloggers Karandi (https://100wordanime.wordpress.com/), Sunite ( https://dailyanimeart.com/)and Arria Cross (https://fujinsei.com/) are constant readers and I wanted to give them a special thanks for that. Finally, YahariBento (https://yaharibento.wordpress.com/) has nominated me for the Sunshine Blogger Award. This is a great honor and I will be discussing this further in my next post.

Also please don’t forget to vote for your favorite anime of 2016. Here is a link to the poll: What is Your Favorite Anime of 2016? . The poll will be open until Dec 24th and the top vote recipient(s) will be the first series to receive a review in 2017, so I want to hear from you!

So until next time, this is Railgunfan75 signing off for the hundredth time and hopefully for a hundred more. See ya!

Leave a Reply

Blogs I Follow

Categories

Top Posts & Pages

Archives

Blogs I Follow

Follow railgunfan75's Geek blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 145 other followers

