railgunfan75's Geek blog

My thoughts on all things geek…anime, comics, conventions, etc. Just remember stay geeky my friends!

2016 Year in Review: Part 1- A look back at 2016 & State of the Blog

Greetings! Railgunfan75 here with my first post of 2017. To start this year, i am going to look back at 2016 both in terms of this blog and in anime. To start with, I wanted to reflect back on the past year and discuss briefly what I’m hoping to do in 2017.

2016 could be considered a rough year. There were plenty of reasons to look down a year which admittedly had a lot of negatives things going on. However, now that I am a few days into the new year, typing away while a cold January day comes to a close- I realize that while there were plenty of reasons to celebrate 2016. First such reason while I hadn’t succeeded in some goals, I did succeed in others. And to top it all off, I  had some great experiences at conventions, and watched plenty of amazing anime and films. As I think about it more, these positive experiences are what I’ll remember the most from the past year. I got to meet some amazing people from fellow geeks to people who help to create the content that is the subject of this blog.(Getting the opportunity to meet and interact with the actors who work in the anime industry is certainly worth the price of admission to a con.) These are experiences that I will remember fondly and hope to carry over to 2017. It is my hope that all of had a great 2016 and are looking forward optimistically to 2017.

2016 was an exciting year for the blog as well. This blog had many cool achievements last year including…

– The blog’s first day with over 100 views

–  Over 8000 views for the year in total

– One of the blog’s posts topped 1000 views

– Started a Twitter page which was a success

-Published the Blog’s 100 post

-Reached all time highs for Views, Posts, and Visitors

I am proud of all these achievements and am really excited for what the new year will bring for this blog.

Speaking of 2017, I do have a few goals for this blog. The first is to try to post on a more consistent basis. While I have provided more content than ever before, I rarely posted on a weekly or daily basis like many other bloggers and I would like to try to remedy that. I have tried and failed multiple times with this and am going to try again in 2017. In order to do this, my second goal  is to make my posts shorter without killing the spirit of the content. My posts take a long time to write and I’m sure a long time to read so my main goal is to work on streamlining my content. I want to post more consistently and hopefully by making posts shorter for both Weiss content and anime reviews, I will have more time to watch anime and to post about them. For a number goal, I would like to top 50 posts this year. I came close last year with 47 and feel that I can top that this year. Finally, I hope to expand the types of content that I present here. I’m not sure what exactly I will add but I will work to come up with something new for the readers.

The success of this blog wouldn’t be possible without the support of you the readers. I have said this before and I say it again but thanks to all of you who have supported me in the last year. The fact that people are interested in what I have to say is really mind blowing. I am part of a great community of anime fans and bloggers and I am looking forward to the future with you all.

Until next time, this is Railgunfan75 signing off! See you next time!

2 comments on “2016 Year in Review: Part 1- A look back at 2016 & State of the Blog

  1. Arria Cross
    January 5, 2017

    Big congrats on all your blogging achievements last year. Keep them up. And of course good luck on all your plans/goals for this year ahead. You can do it. Oh, and Happy New Year. Cheers!

  2. Karandi
    January 5, 2017

    Looks like you hit a lot of milestones in 2016. Goodluck with the new year.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 5, 2017 by in Thoughts and Musings, Uncategorized and tagged .

Blogs I Follow

Categories

Top Posts & Pages

Archives

Blogs I Follow

Follow railgunfan75's Geek blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 157 other followers

