Greetings! We are in the midst of an exciting Waifu Tournament here at Railgunfan75’s Geek Blog. Icons have fallen, many newcomers have been put in their place, and a few surprising powerhouses have emerged. The voter response has been stronger than anticipated so far and I hope it will continue. Round 3 is underway at the time of this post and your can vote until 3/31/2018.

Here is the link to vote in the round 3 Matchups:

For those who were curious, here is how the initial field of 64 was determined:

  • I hand picked a few of my favorite girls to be entered (8-10)
  • Girls were then picked from well established and popular franchises
  • The remainder of the spots were filled by characters picked from top series on MYAnimeList that didn’t fall in to either of the 1st 2 steps.

The characters were then all input into a random list generator to determine the parings. This was to avoid any bias. The polls have been and will be distributed through my blog, Twitter and Facebook.

I want to make this clear as well: I have not and will not cast a vote in the poll. I am merely an observer and organizer.

The main purpose of this tournament for me was to simply see who would be voted best girl from a fairly large pool of characters and of course see how much it would be to run one of these things. I also was curious about some other things as well:

  • I was curious if some of my favorite characters (which is only a small number of the entrants) were popular among my fellow anime peers.
  • I was curious as to whether the votes would be skewed towards characters from newer or older franchises
  • I wanted to know if my perceptions about what characters/franchises were accurate
  • I wanted to see what type of character would prove to be most popular (such as fighter or moe girl)

For those unaware, here are the girls that made it to the round of 16:

Rei Ayanami (Neon Genesis Evangelion)       Yoko Littner (Gurren Lagann)
Chise Hatori (Ancient Magus Bride)                Homura Akemi (Madoka Magica)
Mikasa Ackerman (AOT)                                    Rem (Re:Zero)
Megumin (Konosuba)                                         Ochako Uraraka (My Hero Academia)
Saber (Fate/Zero)                                 Asuka Langley Souryuu (Neon Genesis Evangelion)
Ryuuko Matoi (Kill la Kill)                                  Holo (Spice & Wolf)
Lucy Heartfilia (Fairy Tail)                                 Taiga Asaka (Toradora)
Revy (Black Lagoon)                  Haruhi Suzumiya (The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya)

And here are how the votes have played out so far- these are the overall totals at the end of round 2 starting with the 16 surviving girls.

Yoko Littner (Gurren Lagann) 35
Rei Ayanami (Neon Genesis Evangelion) 32
Homura Akemi (Madoka Magica) 31
Rem (Re:Zero) 31
Saber (Fate/Zero) 31
Ryuuko Matoi (Kill la Kill) 30
Mikasa Ackerman (AOT) 29
Megumin (Konosuba) 29
Asuka Langley Souryuu (Neon Genesis Evangelion) 29
Revy (Black Lagoon) 28
Haruhi Suzumiya (The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya) 28
Chise Hatori (Ancient Magus Bride) 26
Ochako Uraraka (My Hero Academia) 26
Holo (Spice & Wolf) 26
Lucy Heartfilia (Fairy Tail) 26
Taiga Asaka (Toradora) 25
The characters below have been eliminated from the tournament.

Motoko Kusanagi (Ghost in the Shell)



Rin Tohsaka (Fate/Stay Night UBW) 29
Umi Sonoda (Love Live!) 29
Asada Shino (Sinon) (SAO) 29
Celty Sturluson (Durarara!) 25
Sakura Haruno (Naruto) 25
Erza Scarlet (Fairy Tail) 24
Winry (FMA Brotherhood) 24
Kana (Miss Kobayahi’s Dragon Maid) 24
Yuri Nakamura (Angel Beats!) 24
Mako Mankanshoko (Kill la Kill) 24
Mikoto Misaka (A Certain Scientific Railgun) 24
Mirai Kuriyama (Beyond the Boundary) 21
Akatsuki (Log Horizon) 21
Kurisu Makise (Steins; Gate) 21
Erina Nakiri (Food Wars!) 17
Sakura Kinomoto (Card Captor Sakura) 12
Nico Yazawa (Love Live!) 11
Faye Valentine (Cowboy Bebop) 11
Madoka Kaname (Madoka Magica) 11
Yuno Gasai (The Future Diary) 10
Diane (The Seven Deadly Sins) 10
Emilia (Re:Zero) 10
Bulma (Dragonball Z) 10
Haruhi Fujioka (Ouran High School Host Club) 10
Yuki Nagato (The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya) 10
Sasha Blouse (AOT) 10
Aqua (Konosuba) 10
Hifumi Takimoto (New Game!) 10
Asuna Yuuki(SAO) 10
Rize (Is this Order a Rabbit?) 9
Bishamon (Noragami) 9
Sena Kashiwazaki (Haganai) 9
Kuroko Shirai (A Certain Scientific Railgun) 9
Megumi Tadokoro (Food Wars!) 8
Kanade Tachibana (Angel Beats!) 8
Darkness (Konosuba) 8
Eru Chitanda (Hyouka) 8
Konata Izumi (Lucky Star) 7
Nadeshiko Kagamihara (Yuru Camp) 7
Nao Tomori (Charlotte) 7
Akko Kagari (Little Witch Academia) 6
Selesia Upitiria (Re:Creators) 6
Sakura Chiyo (Monthly Girls’ Nozaki-kun) 5
Megumi Kato (Saekano) 5
Yozora Mikazuki (Haganai) 5
Meteora Ossterich (Re:Creators) 5
Hotaru Shidare (Dagashi Kashi) 3
 Total Votes 1123

So here are someinteresting things that I’ve observed considering the results:

  • Of the 16 remaining contenders, there are 15 unique franchises represented with only Neon Genesis Evangelion being represented by multiple characters.
  • Of the 16 remaining characters, only four are from series which premiered after 2015 (Megumin, Rem, Chise, and Ochako)
  • Four characters are from franchises which premiered between 2010 and 2015
  • Six are from franchises which premiered before 2010
  • Yoko Littner (Gurren Lagann) is currently the highest total vote recipient with 35 while Hotaru Shidare (Dagashi Kashi) is the lowest with 3.
  • Two of the characters in the initial field of 64 (Kurisu Makise of Steins; Gate and Winry from FMA Brotherhood) are from franchises which were ranked in the Top 5 on MyAnimeList in terms of review score. Neither survived passed the second round.
  • So far there have been three battles which have ended in ties

There have some interesting trends so far. I will obviously make any final statements after the tournament ends but I have been intrigued by the results so far.

And for redundancy sake, here is the link to vote in the round 3 Matchups:

That concludes this mid tournament report. I do have one question for all of you out there- Do you want to see a Best Boy Tournament after this? Please comment below or message me on Twitter (@Railgunfan75) or Facebook (Railgunfan75’s Geek Blog). So until next time, this is Railgunfan75 signing off! See ya soon and stay geeky my friends!